You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: question on the role of monks in ravenloft  (Read 8441 times)

28Hz

• New to the Mists
question on the role of monks in ravenloft
« on: February 10, 2008, 12:00:28 AM »
hello,

this is my first post, and I've been somewhat active on the server for ~3 days now. I'm brand new to rp, and online play, though i've been playing the game sp for over a year now.

my first char isn't quite working for me the way i had envisioned, mostly due to a lack of backstory planning/inexperience (the guy just doesn't feel right, lol). anyway, i'm a big fan of monks, and was wondering what there is for them to do in barovia. do they have a specific temple that they congregate to, is there an "in house" order to belong to, or would it be recommendable to simply choose an outworld order and rp based on those precepts?

i've looked through the data on the site, and didnt see any info specifically for monks, so if i missed something, kindly point it out please.
or if there's another site for me to see, again, please direct me.

all help is appreciated.

Helaman

• What the hell am I doing here?
  • Dark Power
Re: question on the role of monks in ravenloft
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2008, 03:44:46 AM »
It depends on if you want to be an outlander (not native) or a Barovian/Gundarikite.

Outlanders can be any philosophy etc you can imagine. Any combat style.

Gundarikites are forbidden weapons larger than a dagger, like the Brazilian slaves who evented Capocia (spelling) they may have been forced to study unarmed combat techniques to an extreme level.

Barovians? Thats a tough one... maybe an orphan with an outlander foster parent.

And Otake, Wulfgang Eberhardt, Aesin, Humiko, Bonereaver, Anthrania + whatever concept I am playing with...

28Hz

• New to the Mists
« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2008, 04:04:02 AM »
i was thinking outlander.

i suppose one would have to train oneself in that case...

that or hope to find another of the same sect.