You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: New spell suggestion - Mass Ultravision  (Read 453 times)

Bounty

• Undead Slayer
New spell suggestion - Mass Ultravision
« on: March 09, 2023, 09:15:29 AM »
As the title says, i would like to propose the addition of a new spell 'Mass Ultravision'.

Disclaimer:
I am unsure how feasible it is to implement a custom spell like this, as i am no developer. Neither do i know if it would be in spirit of PotM to implement a spell that is not part of source material. These will be the topics of discussion.

Since the latest addition of the warlock class, darkness sees a lot more use in group and more specifically dungeon play.
In my honest opinion a constant shroud of darkness is one of the strongest tools a warlock can bring to the table and a great way to add relevance in dungeons to an already very niche class. Now, it is already possible to supply each of your party members with ultravision via single target spells. However this is often, either not an option because 2nd level spell slots are used for a variety of other wards, or due to the size of groups it comes to confusion both IC and OOC (who will prepare how many and ward whom with it).
Another option is to use consumables, scrolls or potions of ultravision. These however are rarely in the arsenal of most adventureres and the financial burden of supplying the ward trough these means, will most of the time fall to the warlock. Since scrolls from merchants are rather expensive and the ingredients for the potions are not to common, this is frankly not a very feasible avenue for a lot of players. (as a point of reference i have spent approximately 40.000 gold on scrolls and potions, with my current warlock that i have been playing a little over two months, to supply ultravision to party members)