Author Topic: Rule Clarification - Druids and Metal  (Read 2129 times)


  • Assistant Head DM/Developer
  • Head DMs
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 22036
  • The one and only, the one everyone wants to be!
Rule Clarification - Druids and Metal
« on: September 14, 2020, 06:03:39 PM »

With the recent addition of the automatic system that strips druids of their spells or abilities if they wear metal armor or equip a metal shield, it's become important to clarify officially what is considered "armor."

First of all, so it's clear, we apply the 3.5 version of the druid rules regarding equipment, so druids cannot wear metal armor, nor use metal shields, but they can use metal weapons (unlike in previous editions).

Secondly, since there is no clear definition in D&D of what is considered armor, we've ruled that the following equipment counts as armor: armor, helmet, boots, bracers, gauntlets and gloves. As such, wearing metal equipment in any of those slots, in addition to the shield slot, will cause the druid to lose their powers and spells until their next rest.

We'll be updating the system to include these items shortly, but many items will need to be updated in the module, so we encourage you to report items you encounter that don't have the right material so we can fix them.


-The Development Team