You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: A Plain Black Book. [Chimera's Journal]  (Read 1613 times)

Rubi

• The Underworld
  • Undead Slayer
A Plain Black Book. [Chimera's Journal]
« on: November 02, 2019, 11:48:00 AM »

(This book is immaculate and newly made, if a little unexciting. The first page is blank but the second is filled out in a steady hand in Elvish.)

Alright. Here this goes. Ron has prodded me endlessly about keeping a journal while I have so much free time thrust into my hands, but I suspect it is mostly because I am an expert in subject changing and she tires of battling my wit to tease out my past. So really, this is for you, Ron.

My name is Valenthe Tuann. I am one-hundred and nineteen years of age. I am a Moon Elf from the city of Neverwinter, from the realm known as Toril. I was brought through the Mists against my will...some months ago. To be honest I have lost track of how long it has been. Toril is no longer my home and I expect to never see it again. Barovia is where I live now and I have come to accept that as part of me.

It has not been an easy time. In Barovia I have found that I am considered an outcast, not just because of my heritage, but because of who I am. Barovians are a suspicious and superstitious folk that do not accept the work I have done to forge myself anew. If they discovered that the odd, outlandish elf that serves drinks at the Miner’s Merriment had begun this life as male they would not see anything else then on. Good fortune, then, would be if they only ignored me. They would not care about the amount of coin, time, and cunning it took in order to persuade a powerful enough wizard to enact the change upon me, only that I have been “twisted by vraja”.

But this is the past I write of. It is long since over.