You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: Forum database issues  (Read 3916 times)

Bluebomber4evr

• Head DM, Developer and Ravenloft Trivia Guru/Community Council
  • Administrator
  • Dark Power
    • http://www.nwnravenloft.com
Forum database issues
« on: August 26, 2016, 01:57:28 AM »
Folks, I have been a very lax webmaster.

I have let these forums balloon in size over the last ten years, and while it warms my heart and brings me joy to see that our community has grown so large, it also caused our database to grow large as well, and this has caused our hosting service a lot of issues.

At first I thought it was something to do with a weekly backup, but after investigating, it turns out that there are no weekly backups. We just have too much here that hasn't been pruned, like a lawn that has never been mowed. It was my responsibility to do so, and I did not. I am sorry.

The only way to fix this is to go through these forums like an intervention on an episode of Hoarders. We're going to have to delete a lot of stuff because we just can't keep it all, because trying to keep it all will kill us.

So some particularly old, particularly long topics (for example "Positive Roleplay Experiences") will have to be thrown out and started over.

Older posts in the Tavern will just be tossed if they haven't been posted in for a year or more -- so if there's a particular topic you want to see kept, make a post in there to keep it, otherwise I'm giving it the ol' heave-ho. Same will go for the other public sections of the forums.

Some of the older faction subsections will be tossed as well: PC Wights, Vampire Coven, Wachters, Zeklos Keep, etc. This probably won't matter to any of you who are players since these are invisible and haven't had active players for years, but to our DMs, you'd best go through those old sub-forums (the abandoned factions, not any of the active ones) and move any relevant topics to the DM section of the forums.