You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: Red Blocks on Placeables  (Read 2250 times)

MoonCrower

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Red Blocks on Placeables
« on: January 10, 2016, 02:43:52 AM »
It has been a long time since I have played NWN. After logging back on, I notice that some of the placeables in the world have red, transparent blocks on them. I am going to assume, at this point, that this has something to do with my system or settings. If anyone has encountered this, I would like to know how to remedy the issue. Thanks a ton in advance!

Update: I was wrong, the red blocks are not transparent.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2016, 02:47:05 AM by MoonCrower »
Skype: MoonCrower


Sidhel

  • Professional Packrat
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1160
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #1 on: January 10, 2016, 03:55:33 AM »
Do you play on multiple servers or have multiple servers worth of hakpaks in your folder? Especially if you have different copies of CEP as well, the red transparency is basically a toolset-visible guide to allow builders to see / move those transparent placeables in the toolset. If you're seeing the red-transparency in game, It has something to do with hakpak conflicts in the past. I'd suggest separating your hak files for each server into different folders (hak_potm) (hak_module1) and rename the hak folder you intend to use as hak when you play on that server. Its okay to combine servers that use the same copy of CEP.
Isadora von Brussel - Deathsinger of Orcus (Deceased, Again)

FinalHeaven

  • Ba'al Verzi
  • The Underworld
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1150
  • dat boi
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #2 on: January 10, 2016, 04:00:55 AM »
Do you use an ATI graphics card by chance?  If so, that is a very likely culprit.

Bluebomber4evr

  • Head DM, Developer and Ravenloft Trivia Guru/Community Council
  • Administrator
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 20692
    • http://www.nwnravenloft.com
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #3 on: January 10, 2016, 03:22:34 PM »
Moved this to tech discussion as it's not really a bug in the module, but a setting on your graphics card. Are you playing on a laptop? The issue seems to only affect people playing on laptops.

Bluebomber4evr: The Justice, not you, since 2002

MoonCrower

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #4 on: January 10, 2016, 06:18:50 PM »
I was not certain as to where to place this post. Thanks for the direction.

I just cleaned out my hak and tlk folders with only the newest version of CEP and POTM's hak/tlk files; the issue still persists. As for my graphics card, unfortunately my gaming laptop met quite an end and this one only has an integrated Intel graphics card. And yes, this is a laptop. I have been trying to troubleshoot it, but nothing seems to work.
Skype: MoonCrower


MoonCrower

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #5 on: January 10, 2016, 06:59:23 PM »
Skype: MoonCrower


Bluebomber4evr

  • Head DM, Developer and Ravenloft Trivia Guru/Community Council
  • Administrator
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 20692
    • http://www.nwnravenloft.com
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #6 on: January 10, 2016, 09:43:30 PM »
I'm familiar with what it looks like.  The red blocks are invisible placeables, and are only supposed to look red in the toolset. The game engine renders them invisible, but for some reason, the video cards used in laptops can't render them properly.

Bluebomber4evr: The Justice, not you, since 2002

A normal snake

  • SsSSSSsssss
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3750
  • Ssss
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2016, 09:49:33 PM »
The issue is only present on my laptop when I'm in full screen mode, I don't have it in windowed mode. Try toggling that and see what happens.

MoonCrower

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #8 on: January 15, 2016, 09:58:07 PM »
I switched to window mode, but the problem persists. Quite strange...
Skype: MoonCrower


Tycat

  • The Tabasco Bandit
  • Theatre de la Cathedrale
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 2787
  • Discord: Tycat#2415
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #9 on: January 15, 2016, 10:30:06 PM »
I had this problem with my last laptop. When it took a swim, I replaced it and the problem was gone. I think it was related to the hardware/video card. I am unsure if it is brand related, but my HP works a lot better than the Toshiba. After a while I stopped seeing the blocks, just mentally "blocked them out" (lol). I couldn't find a fix.

Iluvatar

  • Community Council
  • Developers
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 2056
  • I'm one of Strahd's subjects
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #10 on: January 15, 2016, 11:20:19 PM »
I never had that problem until I had to reset my laptop, I started seeing the red block after that, it stopped once I made the update of my video card.

~ Iluvatar / Iluvatar-2 / Iluvatar NCE

Dud_Goose

  • Undead Slayer
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • The Abominable
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2016, 02:45:34 AM »
I still have this issue with my laptop.. it is annoying, but at least I only see red on the walls by the exterior of the Morninglord Sanctuary and around the Vistani/Mist Camp fireplaces.
"Some people never go crazy. What truly horrible lives they must lead."

-Charles Bukowski

Zarathustra217

  • Lead director, main scripter, nutty geek, Community Council
  • Administrator
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 12686
  • a.k.a. Søren
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #12 on: January 28, 2016, 08:38:19 AM »
The red boxes should now be gone but let us know if you still experience them in places.

LivingWasteland

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 634
  • LOOT B4 LUV - TIEFLING LYFE
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #13 on: January 28, 2016, 11:57:36 PM »
Just logged in for the first time since all this happened. Now I see red boxes, and logging in crashes my graphics card. This is new, as I've been playing just fine for months now.


Dud_Goose

  • Undead Slayer
  • ***
  • Posts: 101
  • The Abominable
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #14 on: January 29, 2016, 01:06:46 AM »
I'm still seeing red boxes around the Mist Camp Vistani area (fireplace and around the wagons).
"Some people never go crazy. What truly horrible lives they must lead."

-Charles Bukowski

MoonCrower

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 46
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #15 on: February 14, 2016, 02:20:55 AM »
Red boxes are still present for me as well.
Skype: MoonCrower


Miuo

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1785
Re: Red Blocks on Placeables
« Reply #16 on: February 16, 2016, 08:07:19 AM »
Still seeing them as well.