Author Topic: Hiding names.  (Read 8866 times)

--GlamRock--

• Undead Master
Hiding names.
« on: June 27, 2015, 12:53:08 PM »
This is quite random, but yesterday someone necroposted in an Italian Ravenloft NWN board. I went to see then scanned older messages, and, apparently, one of the coders of the latest incarnation of that server (I think it was Barovia online) said that he was implementing a system through which names were hidden. And players/characters, once introduced in RP to PCs and/or NPCs, could add a customized name, that is the one which was provided. I thought the thing great. It would lift many troubles of metagaming with names, and it would remove, at least quite a bit, the issues of those going in disguise or providing fake names. I am not a coder, and I do wonder if a system like this may ever be implemented on POTM.
https://www.facebook.com/CiaranII

(Being drunk partially legitimates you as a philosopher - someone you wouldn't expect!)

Ehver

• Dark Lord
Re: Hiding names.
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2015, 12:55:29 PM »
This would be SO. COOL.
Ilinca Cristescu - Urban Witch
Player Faction: The Mistraiders

Destinysdesire

• Vallaki Guards
  • Dark Lord
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2015, 12:55:58 PM »
Or perhaps a disguise option like Arelith has that lets you disguise yourself and change your name to that disguised name.

Ophie Kitty

• Inactive - Quit
  • Dark Power
« Reply #3 on: June 27, 2015, 01:05:20 PM »
Are we able to do in game name changes yet on PCs? I thought that was a NWNx thing, and PotM doesn't use NWNx.

Destinysdesire

• Vallaki Guards
  • Dark Lord
« Reply #4 on: June 27, 2015, 01:08:20 PM »
Via DMs only

ShadyWraith

« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2015, 01:53:40 PM »
Hasnt this been previously discussed and turned down for various reasons?

Arawn

• Developers and
  • Dark Power
  • Gwrandewch ar y cwn.
« Reply #6 on: June 27, 2015, 01:55:45 PM »