You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: Setting up multiplayer server  (Read 1396 times)

FlyingLotus

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1434
  • "We want to make all the rules" -Misakato
Setting up multiplayer server
« on: April 18, 2015, 01:29:42 AM »
Hey, so a friend and I wanna play the campaign together. I used the nwserver thing in the game file to create one and was able to go in to multiplayer and direct connect to it myself, but they can't. I've no idea what I'm doing so if someone could give me some pointers I would greatly appreciate it!
Eilithar Cael'aera | Eowaril | Rowan Tallstag | Luca Cardei

Arawn

  • CC, Developers, and
  • Dungeon Masters
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 9458
  • Gwrandewch ar y cwn.
Re: Setting up multiplayer server
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2015, 01:42:31 AM »
Make sure your firewall is allowing it through.
Hir yw'r dydd a hir yw'r nos, a hir yw aros Arawn.

FlyingLotus

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1434
  • "We want to make all the rules" -Misakato
Re: Setting up multiplayer server
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2015, 01:43:21 AM »
would it only be my firewall, or would their setting need to be altered as well?
Eilithar Cael'aera | Eowaril | Rowan Tallstag | Luca Cardei

FinalHeaven

  • Ba'al Verzi
  • The Underworld
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1183
  • dat boi
Re: Setting up multiplayer server
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2015, 01:43:47 AM »
And ensure you have the right ports open.

Or to make it real easy, download something like Hamachi.

Arawn

  • CC, Developers, and
  • Dungeon Masters
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 9458
  • Gwrandewch ar y cwn.
Re: Setting up multiplayer server
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2015, 01:48:16 AM »
Yeah, Hamachi makes this crazy easy.
Hir yw'r dydd a hir yw'r nos, a hir yw aros Arawn.

Angryvet

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 19
    • C.R.Beaumont
Re: Setting up multiplayer server
« Reply #5 on: June 10, 2015, 04:02:46 AM »
Once you have the right ports open, and this is depending if you have multiple computers on your lan or not (I do, so i have to assign some of the ports to one computer(5121 -5300), and some to my wifes), then you shouldn't have any issue with hosting.  It's more or less just setting up your router to let the game through, which can depend on your router.
If you want your actual direct connect ip try  nwn scry, it's pretty good with picking it up so you can give it to a friend.

gainreduction

  • Cool Dungeon Bro
  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 265