You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: THE THREAD OF ALL TECH DISCUSSION THREADS  (Read 1334 times)

Geiger

THE THREAD OF ALL TECH DISCUSSION THREADS
« on: January 05, 2014, 04:51:36 PM »
Greetings technophiles and confused luddites!

I thought I'd make this thread so we could all talk shop with one another/ask/discuss our problems/brag/admire with the various bits of tech in our machines, whatever they may be.

Geiger

Re: THE THREAD OF ALL TECH DISCUSSION THREADS
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2014, 04:55:13 PM »
I shall break the casted mold by posting first as well!

I am currently rocking an ATI Radeon HD 5850. However, its fan is apparently about to explode. Has anyone ever done plan replacement in a 5000 series? Or know of good how-tos? I've never done something like that before. I am going to spend about 30 bucks to try and clean it up. Already found a good ATI fan thing on Amazon.

In the event I fail. Does anyone know cheap alternatives to this graphics card? Hahaha.

Geiger

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2014, 05:00:18 PM »
Also: I failed! Move this to the appropriate forum, LOL!

DM Nocturne

• Sanguis Noctis
  • Dark Power
  • Vampires don't do dishes
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2014, 05:17:42 PM »
I've done replacements for pretty much everything except ATI GPU's. How hard can it be though? :) I've always used Nvidia and I recommend them instead.

Mostly recently I upgraded my Mobo, CPU and ram sticks, cost just under 700 NZD.

Ercvadasz

• Dark Power
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2014, 01:18:23 AM »
from 5770 i moved to a 7790 works smooth, only thing you may need is to update the bios of your computer. (I could do this after i installed the card in, a cheap solution is a 6670 if you can buy it, however for double it's price you get a 7770 or a 7790 which is better, since performance wise 6670 sucks GREATLY)
Currently playing:
Rudrig von Rachenthall - the travelling merchant

Phantasia

• Stealth/Detection Cognoscenti
  • Developers
  • Dark Power