Author Topic: Red Server Feature Bug  (Read 1942 times)

Sharauvyn

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 780
Red Server Feature Bug
« on: November 26, 2013, 09:19:13 PM »
I am noticing that certain features of the server, such as the temporary wall at the Vallaki outskirts garda wall, are a solid bright red to me. Also, Bianca's bar looks to me to have a red wall on top of it instead of open space.  I had to reinstall NWN on my new laptop, so I am sure it's connected, but I have no idea how to fix this.

BahamutZ3RO

  • Master of Many Alts
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 2292
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #1 on: November 26, 2013, 09:27:04 PM »
I am noticing that certain features of the server, such as the temporary wall at the Vallaki outskirts garda wall, are a solid bright red to me. Also, Bianca's bar looks to me to have a red wall on top of it instead of open space.  I had to reinstall NWN on my new laptop, so I am sure it's connected, but I have no idea how to fix this.

That's likely a symptom of the new laptop, not the game itself. NWN does not cooperate well with new video cards. Disable every checkbox in your video options.
: )


Sharauvyn

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 780
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #2 on: November 26, 2013, 09:33:12 PM »
Ah, okay, thanks, I'll try that, thanks. :)

Sharauvyn

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 780
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #3 on: November 26, 2013, 09:36:53 PM »
I turned off all my video options, and I still have a red wall at Bianca's bar.

BahamutZ3RO

  • Master of Many Alts
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 2292
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #4 on: November 26, 2013, 10:00:47 PM »
I'm stumped. What's your video card?
: )


Sharauvyn

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 780
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #5 on: November 26, 2013, 10:17:35 PM »
Under the sound and video section in my control panel, it only lists audio devices.  Under display adapters, I don't know if that's at all what you're looking for, but it says Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000.

Squeak

  • Undead Slayer
  • ***
  • Posts: 104
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #6 on: November 27, 2013, 05:08:27 AM »
That would be your graphics indeed.

I'd honestly look into the possibly of overrides or corrupt hakpacks, I've generally only seen white boxes when an out of date or corrupt hakpack was used, but it could very well be the next place to look.

Sharauvyn

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 780
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #7 on: November 27, 2013, 08:51:11 AM »
That would be your graphics indeed.

I'd honestly look into the possibly of overrides or corrupt hakpacks, I've generally only seen white boxes when an out of date or corrupt hakpack was used, but it could very well be the next place to look.

Okay.  I'm honestly not familiar with how to deal with those things.  What is the next step from here? (*is highly technically unsavvy*)

Ellana Twiggy

  • Guest
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #8 on: November 27, 2013, 10:34:59 AM »
The same thing happens with my wife's game on her pc, it's the video card. There is actually nothing to be done about it short of taking out the nice new video card and installing an old one. 

Bluebomber4evr

  • Head DM, Developer and Ravenloft Trivia Guru/Community Council
  • Administrator
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 20692
    • http://www.nwnravenloft.com
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #9 on: November 27, 2013, 12:48:04 PM »
Yeah, it's definitely the video card. The red blocks you're seeing are for invisible walls, and the red is only supposed to show up in the toolset. For some reason, your video card is showing the red blocking while in the game.

Bluebomber4evr: The Justice, not you, since 2002

Sharauvyn

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 780
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #10 on: November 27, 2013, 04:24:41 PM »
Great.  Well thanks anyways, everyone, for helping to figure out what's going on.

BahamutZ3RO

  • Master of Many Alts
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 2292
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #11 on: November 27, 2013, 06:45:40 PM »
Try updating drivers, google some things... see what you can find. D:
: )


Theorem Of Neutrality

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • It Do
Re: Red Server Feature Bug
« Reply #12 on: November 27, 2013, 07:13:36 PM »
Yeah, I've had this problem for months. I have an AMD Radeon 6500, and I've just come to expect the worst out of Radeon.
Zivon de'Scusa - The Core's best Doctor Doom cosplayer since 752.