Author Topic: Server 'offline'  (Read 3637 times)

emptyanima

  • Making & Breaking Characters Since May 2013
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3150
  • She Who Slays Dragons
    • Emptyanima Portrait Pack
Server 'offline'
« on: August 16, 2013, 10:42:22 AM »
Hey, it says that server is offline in the list, but I know for a fact it isn't.

Any suggestions?

Choirboy

  • Guest
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2013, 10:53:02 AM »
I'm getting the same thing  :x

MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2013, 11:08:10 AM »
you could use Xfire or the ravenloft game launcher to get in instead.... if they also bloody worked properly! which they might for you.

But for some reason Xfire is not scanning any NWN servers today

And the up date for the Ravenloft game launcher keeps telling me it cannot find the .exe and has just broken my launcher... I cannot even figure out how to fix the bleeding thing either.

Annoying!

MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2013, 11:33:59 AM »
oh ok a recent registry clean is whats broken my launcher and preventing it from finding the .exe

Using the Ravenloft Launcher should get around this problem you are having and allow you to log in.

http://potm.markjohansen.dk/

If it tells you it cannot find your .exe simply run the NWN update seems to fix it.

emptyanima

  • Making & Breaking Characters Since May 2013
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3150
  • She Who Slays Dragons
    • Emptyanima Portrait Pack
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2013, 11:45:43 AM »
Oh, I see.

I probably should have mentioned that I am currently playing NWN (the GoG version) via Crossover.

I am unable to install the launcher, but thank you for sharing, it gave me something to try.

Will this be fixed by itself?
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 11:47:26 AM by emptyanima »

primaloath

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2013, 11:46:29 AM »
There is a hardware-related bug with (at least) the GOG.com version of NWN that requires me to rename nwmain.exe to something like nwmain2.exe in order for the game not to crash at startup. However, the Ravenloft game launcher explicitly looks for nwmain.exe, so while it loads the game, the game crashes at startup. As a result, the Ravenloft game launcher is not an option for me.
Active characters:
Dumitru Cazan
little Gyor
Lucien Dumarchand
Pampadilampu Lalili the Harlequin

Stored characters:
Ronan Pattian
Fane Fulgeru-de-Haur: "Talent? Who needs talent?"
Maria Benga

MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #6 on: August 16, 2013, 11:51:29 AM »
It should clear up by its self yes, this is a ISP fault really, not a server issue.

emptyanima

  • Making & Breaking Characters Since May 2013
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3150
  • She Who Slays Dragons
    • Emptyanima Portrait Pack
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #7 on: August 16, 2013, 11:53:15 AM »
Okay, I'll keep checking back, just a bit frustrating as I was right in the middle of something.

Now I must go and do something else....

What is my life? :P

MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #8 on: August 16, 2013, 12:02:58 PM »
me too lol... i had a famous last words instant telling a lvl 3 squishy "its ok if you do not stealth I will keep all the shadows off of you" one runs strait past me, hit her and my connection froze lols!

Night.Walker

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #9 on: August 16, 2013, 12:04:04 PM »
Hmm... I'm experiencing the same thing too.. Very strange, anyone had any luck yet?

MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #10 on: August 16, 2013, 12:08:00 PM »
Its just a ISP issue it defiantly looks like its all the Brits are effected others from else ware are in game playing though.

emptyanima

  • Making & Breaking Characters Since May 2013
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3150
  • She Who Slays Dragons
    • Emptyanima Portrait Pack
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #11 on: August 16, 2013, 12:10:40 PM »
*shakes fist* Curse you, BT! :P

primaloath

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 49
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2013, 12:19:20 PM »
There is a very elegant solution to this, if you don't mind playing exclusively for the sake of the story and character development for a little while.

RP on the chatroom - the 'chat' button is right next to the 'forum' button on this website.

I will happily be your substitute DM for the evening.
Active characters:
Dumitru Cazan
little Gyor
Lucien Dumarchand
Pampadilampu Lalili the Harlequin

Stored characters:
Ronan Pattian
Fane Fulgeru-de-Haur: "Talent? Who needs talent?"
Maria Benga

MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #13 on: August 16, 2013, 12:23:01 PM »
LOLs! that would sooth my wish to roll play but not my compulsive desire to alter costumes, ninja loot and kill things... maybe ill just make a sig pic for Sanngrior.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 12:24:53 PM by MadJKevlar »

Kendaric

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 490
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #14 on: August 16, 2013, 12:25:44 PM »
Its just a ISP issue it defiantly looks like its all the Brits are effected others from else ware are in game playing though.

It's not just you Brits ;) Got the same issue right here...

DM Tarokka

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 6931
  • Fata volentem ducunt, nolentem trahunt
    • Facebook page
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #15 on: August 16, 2013, 12:42:52 PM »
Same happens to me, I bypassed this by simply putting the IP of the server for the direct connect
http://www.facebook.com/CiaranII
Pokemon Go! 5688 6574 4676

MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #16 on: August 16, 2013, 12:50:30 PM »
Its just a ISP issue it defiantly looks like its all the Brits are effected others from else ware are in game playing though.

It's not just you Brits ;) Got the same issue right here...

yah i can see that, I think BT and T-mobile use the same Hard ware along with many other ISPs.. guessing your being directed through T-mobile anyway and thus being effected with the same group of people.

Ciaran you lucky git i tryed that a thousand times already :)
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 12:53:53 PM by MadJKevlar »

Kendaric

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 490
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #17 on: August 16, 2013, 12:51:44 PM »
Same happens to me, I bypassed this by simply putting the IP of the server for the direct connect

Tried that as well without luck :(

Bluebomber4evr

  • Head DM, Developer and Ravenloft Trivia Guru/Community Council
  • Administrator
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 20692
    • http://www.nwnravenloft.com
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #18 on: August 16, 2013, 01:57:18 PM »
There's probably a few routers that are down that are part of your ISP's network. Something similar happened a few years back that prevented certain US ISPs (such as AT&T) from accessing the server because several of the routers AT&T used to connect to Europe were temporarily knocked offline.

Bluebomber4evr: The Justice, not you, since 2002

MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #19 on: August 16, 2013, 02:13:00 PM »
This happens quite a lot really with the ISP i use, BT. It is normally for very short periods of time compared to this though, as regularly as one every 2 to 3 months and effecting others either close by or being directed through the same northern hemisphere routs, i think your guess is spot on mate and is just a matter of time until they fix it.

MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #20 on: August 16, 2013, 02:28:02 PM »
For any one who was still interested in other ways to connect to by pass any other possible issues that might cause you not to be able to connect through your normal client I mentioned Xfire earlier which i do like a lot because you still get a server list with it as well as options to chat and create groups of your gaming buddies.

Here is the link to down load that.

http://classic.xfire.com/download/

Just let it scan your games and it will find NWN and show you every server that is running still more or less.

You can also add your favorite servers to it by entering direct IP.

Mine just has Ravenloft and a lot of dead Dragon lance servers :P
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 02:33:32 PM by MadJKevlar »

emptyanima

  • Making & Breaking Characters Since May 2013
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3150
  • She Who Slays Dragons
    • Emptyanima Portrait Pack
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #21 on: August 16, 2013, 02:35:51 PM »
I'm off to try that! Thanks, mate! :)

LadyDragn

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 253
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #22 on: August 16, 2013, 02:39:26 PM »
Seems its messing with Time Warner as well, and I'm not even in Europe but can't see the server, nor do I have it through GoG. I purchased my game years ago. :(

LivingWasteland

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 634
  • LOOT B4 LUV - TIEFLING LYFE
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #23 on: August 16, 2013, 02:47:57 PM »
Odd, I'v e got an original CD key and am with Time Warner and having no problems.


MadJKevlar

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 453
  • Ah! the generals! (is AKA WhenWolvesHoundThePrey)
Re: Server 'offline'
« Reply #24 on: August 16, 2013, 02:55:00 PM »
Aliens... Satellites... mother ship in the way... [sage nod]