You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: The Sun Under Castle Ravenloft  (Read 709 times)

ravenloftny

• New to the Mists
The Sun Under Castle Ravenloft
« on: August 12, 2022, 12:00:51 PM »
Hello,

Newbie here, first time posting. Hello to all. There is something that I swear I remembered reading in the 2nd edition Ravenloft book, but I bought the book again recently and discovered it was NOT in there.

I could have sworn I remembered reading something in this edition where there was a discussion about how to escape Ravenloft. The text was mentioning how no one really knew a way. However, in passing, it mentioned something about how there was "a piece of the sun" buried beneath Castle Ravenloft, and if adventures unearthed it, the curse would be lifted, and all of Ravenloft would go back to the prime material plane.

Also, I am positive it said "the Sun," NOT the "Sunsword," which of course is something completely different.

I cannot find any reference to this on discussion boards, Reddit, etc.

Can someone else confirm if they ever read such a thing? If not...well, this was my last ditch effort to see if anyone else had ever heard of it. If it's a bust, then I will just find some other method for my PCs to get out. However, I thought it would be pretty cool if I was right, and this myth really had been mentioned somewhere.

Thanks.

ladylena

• Gundie Mom
  • Dark Power
  • Meow!
Re: The Sun Under Castle Ravenloft
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2022, 01:05:10 PM »
Maybe it was in the gazetter about Barovia?
Currently playing:
                          Narcissa Bogdan

Alan Hunter

• Dark Lord
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2022, 03:19:05 PM »
I believe what ye seeking isn't in a game book but more one of the novels written about Ravenloft. And I think what you refering to is a rendition to a version 2 of the old table top optional lines of Ravenloft 2. I don't think its an actual sun just piece of an artifact. Might be mistaken.