Author Topic: New monitor won't run NWN  (Read 3488 times)

DM Macabre

  • Dungeon Master
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 8481
New monitor won't run NWN
« on: February 12, 2012, 04:51:06 AM »
So I bought this new monitor to have more space when haunting you players and now it does not run NWN anymore.  :?

It's a LG E2441. Anyone got a tip how I could fix that? Or do I need to get another monitor? Thanks for the help guys!
« Last Edit: February 12, 2012, 11:24:25 AM by DM Macabre »

currently I run:
-: Curse of the Wolf :-
-: The Curse of von Zeklos :-

DM Macabre

  • Dungeon Master
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 8481
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2012, 11:19:23 AM »
To add. The only thing I see on the NWN screen is the pointing hand cursor. Graphic Card is Nvidia GeForce 8400 GS.
« Last Edit: February 12, 2012, 11:23:46 AM by DM Macabre »

currently I run:
-: Curse of the Wolf :-
-: The Curse of von Zeklos :-

DM Tarokka

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 6931
  • Fata volentem ducunt, nolentem trahunt
    • Facebook page
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #2 on: February 12, 2012, 12:02:08 PM »
Try to change NWN settings before entering the game
http://www.facebook.com/CiaranII
Pokemon Go! 5688 6574 4676

GunzNrosZ

  • Outlander
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #3 on: February 12, 2012, 01:19:20 PM »
I had this problem with playing SWTOR. What it came down to for me was, I needed to change the cable I was using connecting my monitor to my come.
I had to go with a HDMI cable.

Just to play a game!

DM Macabre

  • Dungeon Master
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 8481
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #4 on: February 12, 2012, 04:41:45 PM »
Try to change NWN settings before entering the game
change to what?


I had this problem with playing SWTOR. What it came down to for me was, I needed to change the cable I was using connecting my monitor to my come.
I had to go with a HDMI cable.

Just to play a game!
I connect via a DMI cable. My graphic card has no HDMI exit. Any other recommendations?

currently I run:
-: Curse of the Wolf :-
-: The Curse of von Zeklos :-

Bluebomber4evr

  • Head DM, Developer and Ravenloft Trivia Guru/Community Council
  • Administrator
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 20692
    • http://www.nwnravenloft.com
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #5 on: February 12, 2012, 05:59:35 PM »
do you have the latest drivers for your video card?

Bluebomber4evr: The Justice, not you, since 2002

dark_majico

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1551
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #6 on: February 13, 2012, 08:23:32 AM »
I think your monitor is dirty, submerse it in scalding hot water.
Active:
Constance Hollows

DM Macabre

  • Dungeon Master
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 8481
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #7 on: February 18, 2012, 05:00:00 AM »
Ah yeah right, I should clean the blood from my monitor at times.  :knife:

currently I run:
-: Curse of the Wolf :-
-: The Curse of von Zeklos :-

Mark Johansen

  • Developers
  • Dark Lord
  • *
  • Posts: 895
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #8 on: February 18, 2012, 06:05:24 AM »
Try Launching nwn in window mode.

DM Tarokka

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 6931
  • Fata volentem ducunt, nolentem trahunt
    • Facebook page
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #9 on: February 18, 2012, 09:00:50 AM »
With the setting you should try what works, and go by attempts. I had some issues with monitors in the past after reinstalling NWN and i remember some settings went "wrong" by having most screen going "out of view".
http://www.facebook.com/CiaranII
Pokemon Go! 5688 6574 4676

DM Macabre

  • Dungeon Master
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 8481
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #10 on: February 18, 2012, 09:29:42 AM »
Installing the new driver and starting in window mode at least helped partially. I now get somehow in the game (at least player side) but lag like crazy even on lowest graphic settings. Any tips?

currently I run:
-: Curse of the Wolf :-
-: The Curse of von Zeklos :-

Metal_ash

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 871
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #11 on: February 18, 2012, 09:40:19 AM »
Macabre, i had trouble with terrible lag and also trouble to load the module when i bought new stuffs...this sounds odd but it had nothing to do with video settings at all to do but with the sounds settings, turn of that EAX sound or what it is called and try some different settings there as that solved my problem i had.

Dobian

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 999
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #12 on: February 18, 2012, 10:20:04 AM »
Did the Windows resolution change?  Is it the same as the game resolution?  That would do it too.


Tabitha Dalenner, Faerun
Sentire Stefania Milea, Borca
Paulette Gérard, Dementlieu
Salina Pandora, Faerun
Louis Mingo, Souraigne

dark_majico

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1551
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #13 on: February 18, 2012, 01:22:41 PM »
Try Launching nwn in window mode.

Try launching it from a tower block.
Active:
Constance Hollows

Kendric98

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1682
  • Omnipotent Overlord of the Omniverse!
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2012, 03:20:06 AM »
(Indian accent) did you check to see if it is pluged in?  :twisted:

Samson/Tatyanna Costella

EberronBruce

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1113
  • Legos
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #15 on: February 19, 2012, 03:49:57 AM »
I found these.

http://www.lg.com/au/support/product/support-product-profile.jsp?customerModelCode=E2441V-BN&matchedModelCode=1400004580&searchEngineModelCode=E2441V-BN&initialTab=documents&targetPage=support-product-profile

http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/archive/1747131

LG is a Korean company. Mac if you still have problems and think it is the monitor, shoot me a pm, I maybe able to get you a contact at LG. Half of my graduated students in my lab works for LG and the other half works for Samsung (trust me quite strange.)

DM Macabre

  • Dungeon Master
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 8481
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #16 on: February 20, 2012, 07:01:54 PM »
Yeah, still can't get into the game.  :| Will try to fix it again at the end of the week.

currently I run:
-: Curse of the Wolf :-
-: The Curse of von Zeklos :-

Dusk

  • Finder of Lost Children
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1055
  • Enjoys Port-a-Lucine
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #17 on: February 20, 2012, 07:37:11 PM »
Here are a few questions I have:

Did you try running any other games with your new monitor, and did those give you problems as well?

Did you change or update any software prior to hooking up your new monitor?

Was it the driver update, setting NWN to windowed mode, or both that made the game visible at least?

In regards to the last question, it has been said before many times that NWN does not perform as well with more modern systems, and I have had driver issues in the past that were fixed by rolling back to a previous driver and optimizing settings. I do not see how hooking up a monitor, without changing any graphics settings or resolution, could lead to a drastic decrease in performance with NWN. So, I'm wondering if the cause of this lag may be due to updating your driver, and if that is the case, then perhaps the original issue of the game not displaying was a resolution one fixed by playing the game in windowed mode, which would hopefully allow you to rollback your driver and play at the performance level you had before while keeping the game visible in windowed mode.

That's my shot in the dark, anyway... As I said, I know I had some performance issues with updating my drivers in the past. If you already know that windowed mode doesn't fix the original black screen problem with a previous driver, then I wish you the best of luck and hope someone who is far more knowledgeable than I am can come up with a solution. :)

DM Macabre

  • Dungeon Master
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 8481
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #18 on: February 22, 2012, 03:32:54 AM »
Well my assumption is that the new much higher resolution is too much for my pc's processor. And that's where the lag stems from. As DM mode is even more CPU demanding that's the reason why I can't log into DM side at all. Does that make sense? Or is the resolution setting not that much of a pc resource eating source?

Other games?!? There is anything other than NWN?! :lol: Will check that idea later.

currently I run:
-: Curse of the Wolf :-
-: The Curse of von Zeklos :-

EberronBruce

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1113
  • Legos
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #19 on: February 22, 2012, 05:11:02 AM »
Mac we miss you come back! :nailbite: :GRIM2A:

That does make some sense. I would think for graphics display would be more of a GPU than the CPU, as the point of a video card is to relieve the CPU from some computations.

Mac, I sure there are a lot of bright computer folks here. Maybe you should list the specs out of your machine and monitor. It could be a small hardware compatibility issue like you stated. I see it rare and rare with new machines but have seen such weird things with the older machines.

Metal_ash

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 871
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #20 on: February 25, 2012, 06:26:10 AM »
Any news Macabre??? Hope you manage to fix this problem of yours this weekend so we get you in game again soon!

If not, keep posting here so we have a chance to maybe aid you get through this...

//Cheers!

DM Macabre

  • Dungeon Master
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 8481
Re: New monitor won't run NWN
« Reply #21 on: February 29, 2012, 02:34:18 AM »
Finally fixed it! New drivers, windowed start and graphic adjustments did the trick. Thanks guys for all the help! :)

currently I run:
-: Curse of the Wolf :-
-: The Curse of von Zeklos :-