You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: Identifying Items [No-Priority]  (Read 2268 times)

Purist

• Red Academy
  • Dark Power
Identifying Items [No-Priority]
« on: November 03, 2011, 12:45:58 PM »
I personally think that most items are pretty easily identified by a PC with a low rank in Lore. I think my main PC has a total of 8 or 10 in Lore, when he wears a Ring of Scholars (+5), and he can pretty much identify all items that he encounters. Maybe we could raise the Identify DC a little. To try and make scholars(or PCs that really invest in knowledge) be the ones really identifying things.

The NPCs still charge the default RPG-Game 100 coins. 99% of the times it's not worth. I've lost money with this back when I was a newbie. Maybe lower the price a bit....

Do you agree?
« Last Edit: November 03, 2011, 12:47:31 PM by Purist »

Bodhidharma

Re: Identifying Items [No-Priority]
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2011, 01:27:45 PM »
Low magic = Low DCs.

Items have a low value, crafted goods have low value and most merchants have a capped pay-out price so I think the ID price should be lowered to better fit the setting.

ethinos

• Keepin' it hardcore since 2nd edition AD&D
  • Dark Power
  • When in doubt, fireball.
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2011, 01:35:56 PM »
The ID price is a relic of the NWN campaign, right? Where you usually come into a lot more coin by way of adventuring...

I'd say make it something like 35-40 fangs, and influenced by Appraise.
Torgan Ironshield: Battlerager and smith
Wirth Darmington II: Roguish noble
Kurgh: A simple herdsman

Exordium

• Developers
  • Dark Power
« Reply #3 on: November 03, 2011, 01:39:11 PM »
If it was possible to increase the lore DCs without affecting the item values, that'd be great.

My paladin for example, with zero points invested in lore and 10 intelligence, has never encountered an item he can't identify with gear only.