You have been taken by the Mists

Author Topic: Torso and the arms missing  (Read 1692 times)

Budly

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 5948
Torso and the arms missing
« on: May 03, 2011, 05:09:21 PM »
Of late I had issues in NWN where the torso and arms of some characters are gone, not there. Been told to try and log on and off but it do not help.

Is it my CEP thats the problem? Out of age? I haven't tried to update it for quiet some time.  :(

Bluebomber4evr

  • Head DM, Developer and Ravenloft Trivia Guru/Community Council
  • Administrator
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 20692
    • http://www.nwnravenloft.com
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2011, 06:12:51 PM »
Yes but don't use the updater. You'll have to re-download the whole thing. >.<

Bluebomber4evr: The Justice, not you, since 2002

Budly

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 5948
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2011, 04:44:16 PM »
Aw crap! :( It takes hours with my slowpoke broadband.  :(
« Last Edit: May 07, 2011, 04:47:30 PM by Budly »

Budly

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 5948
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2011, 01:34:44 PM »
Reinstalled and yet just now some guy without  a torso and arms came walking.

Must I Exterminate all old CEP files from before?

Mark Johansen

  • Developers
  • Dark Lord
  • *
  • Posts: 895
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2011, 02:17:49 PM »
do the following - rename your override folder, create an new - do an extrac of the CEP files into the correct folders and get only the needed items for Override folder.

Budly

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 5948
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2011, 04:26:32 PM »
Thank you for the advice! :) I give it a try!

Budly

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 5948
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #6 on: June 06, 2011, 03:48:02 PM »
do the following - rename your override folder, create an new - do an extrac of the CEP files into the correct folders and get only the needed items for Override folder.

Just gotten back to NWN and wonder how do I know what stuff in the override I need?

I see no indications which tells what is a CEP file in the Override folder!

Romar Notten

  • Guest
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #7 on: June 06, 2011, 06:08:11 PM »
I noticed that a certain settin in the game options causes some bits and peices of the armor to disspear if turned off, can't remeber which though.

Budly

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 5948
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2011, 05:33:05 PM »
Oh? Maybe I should fiddle with it a bit then?

firebrand

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #9 on: August 17, 2011, 06:52:10 AM »
Sorry to bump an old thread, but I've been having the same issue and was curious if you fixed this and if so what ended up doing it for ya? Probably gonna try a complete cep reinstall to see if it works.
Tsuki - Caliban Monk
Ashellene Silverblade - Human, Outlander, Sell-sword
Ca'edwyn Tauriel - Elf, Outlander, Druid

Budly

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 5948
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #10 on: August 23, 2011, 06:25:37 PM »
I reinstalled NWN. Which I need to do again, fully sweep it clean since I have other problems with it.  :cry:

Purist

  • Vallaki Guards
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1729
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #11 on: August 23, 2011, 08:37:39 PM »
Sometimes this can occur due to a video driver update or simply a matter of fiddling with your VGA control panel. I remember that in my old PC my Radeon 3850 doesn't show characters at all if I tick environment mapping on creatures and change my Catalyst AI from advanced to anything else. (Basic or Off)

firebrand

  • New to the Mists
  • *
  • Posts: 31
Re: Torso and the arms missing
« Reply #12 on: August 24, 2011, 02:57:36 PM »
Sometimes this can occur due to a video driver update or simply a matter of fiddling with your VGA control panel. I remember that in my old PC my Radeon 3850 doesn't show characters at all if I tick environment mapping on creatures and change my Catalyst AI from advanced to anything else. (Basic or Off)

I had this problem as well. I reinstalled all the mods and haven't seen any issues since, but I don't know if I've seen anything that would cause the issues yet either :/
Tsuki - Caliban Monk
Ashellene Silverblade - Human, Outlander, Sell-sword
Ca'edwyn Tauriel - Elf, Outlander, Druid