Author Topic: Is there a way to add additional quick bars?  (Read 2660 times)

Saruven

  • Outlander
  • **
  • Posts: 75
Is there a way to add additional quick bars?
« on: February 17, 2011, 11:03:57 AM »
Fairly new to NWN so not sure if this is possible, but is there a way to add extra quick bars?  There are just too many spells to fit the existing three even at a low level and having to change my bars around every time I change what spells I've got memorized gets old fast.  Casting all buffs from the radial menu to save space doesn't feel like an improvement.

Blacky Rose

  • Undead Slayer
  • ***
  • Posts: 218
Re: Is there a way to add additional quick bars?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2011, 11:30:27 AM »
To my knowledge there is no way to add additional GUI elements in NWN, not even through overrides.
Better to write for yourself and have no public, than to write for the public and have no self.

Wertola

  • Undead Slayer
  • ***
  • Posts: 178
  • Liches ain't shit but blows and crits
Re: Is there a way to add additional quick bars?
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2011, 12:04:01 PM »
 :shock: I'm sorry but....HOW MANY SPELLS ARE YOU USING!?  :shock:
Vurag Kaulf- Half-Orc Paladin of Ilmater
Legebrilmar Wenenglefner- Elf Wizard
Eluldor Leonard- Half-drow fighter
Decarabia Ethniu- Tiefling Sorcerer
Anghel Bogoescu- Caliban hunter

WildPirate13

  • Guest
Re: Is there a way to add additional quick bars?
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2011, 12:16:37 PM »
Quick slots can fill up fast. Potions, crafting gear, using the radial bar can fill them up fast f you select more than just spells.

The option I like is H on the keyboard. Hides the interface, sadly whenever you chat/talk etc it brings it back up.

Telkar

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1621
Re: Is there a way to add additional quick bars?
« Reply #4 on: February 17, 2011, 12:51:27 PM »
There should be a new patch with more quickbars like nwn2 ...oh how sweet it would be.

Bato

  • Developers
  • Dark Lord
  • *
  • Posts: 679
Re: Is there a way to add additional quick bars?
« Reply #5 on: February 17, 2011, 12:53:59 PM »
:shock: I'm sorry but....HOW MANY SPELLS ARE YOU USING!?  :shock:

Wizards use a /lot/ of spells.
I always often have a few I don't even quickslot for space. And just cast them via radial menu.

I don't think there's a way to add more bars. I'd suggest having some spells left off to be cast from radial menu, like your mage armour, alignment protections, etc..

Saruven

  • Outlander
  • **
  • Posts: 75
Re: Is there a way to add additional quick bars?
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2011, 04:26:46 PM »
:shock: I'm sorry but....HOW MANY SPELLS ARE YOU USING!?  :shock:

As a cleric, more than one bar is used up with just the spells I buff with after every rest.  If I listed all of the buffs I use situationally it'd consume two bars.  A bar is largely consumed listing my heals and my inflicts (which don't have to be memorized).  And I have a bar that I use for potions and equipment swaps.  I'm only level 5, so the situation is going to get much worse as I get more spells.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 04:29:17 PM by Saruven »

Emomina

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 2655
  • PotM OG
Re: Is there a way to add additional quick bars?
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2011, 04:42:45 PM »
Its not so bad. What I do with my clerics is put only the spells that must be casts in a pinch or heat of the moment on the bar, and all their party buffing routine I just do using the radials.

dutchy

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 4706
  • Potm's own forum troll
Re: Is there a way to add additional quick bars?
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2011, 11:29:17 PM »
my advice go melee we dont have that much of a problem.

thats contructive posting no?  :lol:

Tagdar Stonebeard- the lone statue
Mihas Mandruleanu- He is the law
Gurdan- priest of the allfather, and current head of the silverhand trading company