Author Topic: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?  (Read 4045 times)

k_moustakas

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1035
  • Shadow calls... shadow whispers...
Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« on: June 09, 2008, 12:54:10 PM »
Taking into account the rules...

if I am level 11 ie fighter. Am I allowed to multiclass to ie cleric or will this be in violation of the multiclassing rules?
Has been described as a sometimey player

Nefensis

  • MIA
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 7171
  • Gaming wench )0(
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2008, 12:55:35 PM »
It would be yes, 11fighter/1 cleric dosnt work

Stela Cojocaru - barovian snake
Crina Ovidiu - barovian guard

Ryltar/ Robert Archer

  • The Cult of the Morninglord
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3027
  • The Chuck Norris of RP -Eraldur
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2008, 01:44:45 PM »
wasnt it changed though that multi classing can be done long as the second class is like say 15 fighter/ 5 cleric? wasnt it changed so things like that are allowed?

ethinos

  • Keepin' it hardcore since 2nd edition AD&D
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3707
  • When in doubt, fireball.
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2008, 01:50:31 PM »
The current rule that applies here:
Quote
Classes must be no more than 10 levels apart when multiclassing.

11-1=10, so I think a level 11 fighter/level 1 cleric is fine. But if you hit level 12 before multiclassing, you'd be stuck.
Torgan Ironshield: Battlerager and smith
Wirth Darmington II: Roguish noble
Kurgh: A simple herdsman

Rex

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3948
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2008, 01:58:48 PM »
The current rule that applies here:
Quote
Classes must be no more than 10 levels apart when multiclassing.

11-1=10, so I think a level 11 fighter/level 1 cleric is fine. But if you hit level 12 before multiclassing, you'd be stuck.

Basic math shows it to be true, and who said you'd never use 11-1 in the real world?

~Rex
Sometimes brutal violence is the only answer.

Nefensis

  • MIA
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 7171
  • Gaming wench )0(
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2008, 02:30:32 PM »
From what i understood its that extra level that is a problem, if it was 10fighter 1 cleric It would be fine. I cant be OVER 10 lvls appart and the eleventh level is the issue. But i might be wrong.

Stela Cojocaru - barovian snake
Crina Ovidiu - barovian guard

k_moustakas

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1035
  • Shadow calls... shadow whispers...
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #6 on: June 09, 2008, 02:35:44 PM »
good thing I'm asking while >I< am still level 10 then :p

Some official answer on this please?
Has been described as a sometimey player

Rex

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3948
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2008, 02:36:45 PM »
From what i understood its that extra level that is a problem, if it was 10fighter 1 cleric It would be fine. I cant be OVER 10 lvls appart and the eleventh level is the issue. But i might be wrong.

11 -1 is still 10.  That's not Greater then 10 levels apart therefore it works.  Besides why Multiclass?  Don't Swim with the fishes, beach yourself like a proper single classed whale.  :D

~Rex
Sometimes brutal violence is the only answer.

ethinos

  • Keepin' it hardcore since 2nd edition AD&D
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3707
  • When in doubt, fireball.
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2008, 03:12:28 PM »
From what i understood its that extra level that is a problem, if it was 10fighter 1 cleric It would be fine. I cant be OVER 10 lvls appart and the eleventh level is the issue. But i might be wrong.

You are wrong, unfortunately. Once he takes that first level, he's ten levels apart. That's why I said if he was level 12 though, he'd not be able to multiclass without a rebuild or without somehow losing some levels (like by respawning).
Torgan Ironshield: Battlerager and smith
Wirth Darmington II: Roguish noble
Kurgh: A simple herdsman

Badbelly

  • Undead Slayer
  • ***
  • Posts: 229
  • RP imposter
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2008, 03:16:06 PM »
Multi classing is for noobs and nooblets. What was the question again? *wonders off, muttering to himself*

Kung Fu Orc

  • Supreme Overlord
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1510
  • Alchoholics Incorperated
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #10 on: June 09, 2008, 03:35:30 PM »
It's fine so long as you END no more then 10 lvls apart. 11 fighter 1 cleric is fine, but when you multiclass you have to take 2 lvls in a row of that class before you can take another.

Daciana Varzaru- "If fate is a principle beyond Human comprehension which capriciously torments man, then it is karma that man confront fate with sorcery."

k_moustakas

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1035
  • Shadow calls... shadow whispers...
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #11 on: August 15, 2008, 03:40:01 PM »
Sorry for bringing this back up again. I really need a Dev or a DM to give an official answer, because asking random people has given me random answers.

Does the 10 level apart rule count at any stage or the final level 20-esque stage?

Example: I am now level 13 bard. Can I take 7 straight fighter levels? Can I multi class in general to anything other than prestige?

Repeat, need an OFFICIAL answer. Thanks
Has been described as a sometimey player

archonzero

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
    • ArchonZero's Gallery Art
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #12 on: August 15, 2008, 04:15:43 PM »
  I also have a question of concern regarding multiclassing and level differences.
:arrow:  -IF- you take a class you are required by server rules to take a minimum of 5 levels correct?  Or does this only apply to the standard classes or all classes including PRCs?  Or could a player take 16 levels in standard multi-classing and take less than 5 levels in a PRC?
« Last Edit: August 15, 2008, 05:49:39 PM by archonzero »

-----
Jai'Dynn Za'Raa - Shadow Huntress

Serevain

  • Undead Master
  • ****
  • Posts: 371
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #13 on: August 15, 2008, 04:30:49 PM »
16/4 combos can't be done here, to avoid situations like a guy apping for SD then taking one level just for HIPS


Virgil, Shattered Husk
Sir Tristan Crowley, Bastard Knight of the Charitable One
Operon Amentlus, Dwarf Magus
Ignatie Carmitru, Vallaki Garda

ethinos

  • Keepin' it hardcore since 2nd edition AD&D
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3707
  • When in doubt, fireball.
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #14 on: August 15, 2008, 04:45:30 PM »
Your levels at all times must never be more than 10 levels apart. If you are a level 13 bard, you cannot multiclass now. If you take a PrC, you MUST take 5 levels of it by the time you hit 20, but the 10 levels apart still is a factor.
Torgan Ironshield: Battlerager and smith
Wirth Darmington II: Roguish noble
Kurgh: A simple herdsman

kanedellesk

  • Guest
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #15 on: August 15, 2008, 04:56:25 PM »
Definitive Answer:

15/5 is fine. 16/4 is not. No two classes can be more than 10 levels apart.

If you are a level 13 bard, you cannot multiclass now.

Yes, he can.

ethinos

  • Keepin' it hardcore since 2nd edition AD&D
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3707
  • When in doubt, fireball.
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #16 on: August 15, 2008, 05:02:02 PM »
How? If he takes a level in another class, he'll be 13/1. That's 12 apart.
Torgan Ironshield: Battlerager and smith
Wirth Darmington II: Roguish noble
Kurgh: A simple herdsman

Kaspar

  • Guest
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #17 on: August 15, 2008, 05:02:42 PM »
I believe they mean it's a 10 level differance, or something of that sort, at level -20-. :)

ethinos

  • Keepin' it hardcore since 2nd edition AD&D
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3707
  • When in doubt, fireball.
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #18 on: August 15, 2008, 05:04:46 PM »
Here's the rule:
Quote
- Classes must be no more than 10 levels apart when multiclassing.

It makes no mention of only being applicable upon hitting level 20, and speaks in the present tense. Some subraces and monstrous classes won't even hit level 20.
Torgan Ironshield: Battlerager and smith
Wirth Darmington II: Roguish noble
Kurgh: A simple herdsman

Bad_Bud

  • Developers
  • Dark Power
  • *
  • Posts: 4434
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #19 on: August 15, 2008, 05:09:16 PM »
I guess that makes it level 18 for them, then.


ethinos

  • Keepin' it hardcore since 2nd edition AD&D
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3707
  • When in doubt, fireball.
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #20 on: August 15, 2008, 05:11:50 PM »
A tiefling with vampire DNA would hit 12 max I think, for example. But notice that the ruling doesn't say that you have to END up 10 levels apart. By the wording it implies that AT ALL TIMES you must be no more than 10 apart.

I interpret governing documents as I manage homeowner associations (hiss!). If this is not the way the rule is meant to be enforced, it should be clarified better. Maybe a Dev can speak about this soon.
Torgan Ironshield: Battlerager and smith
Wirth Darmington II: Roguish noble
Kurgh: A simple herdsman

kanedellesk

  • Guest
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #21 on: August 15, 2008, 05:15:57 PM »
Eth, quit being so anal retentive  :P

ethinos

  • Keepin' it hardcore since 2nd edition AD&D
  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 3707
  • When in doubt, fireball.
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #22 on: August 15, 2008, 05:16:32 PM »
Bah. I know when I'm right. :p
Torgan Ironshield: Battlerager and smith
Wirth Darmington II: Roguish noble
Kurgh: A simple herdsman

archonzero

  • Dark Lord
  • *****
  • Posts: 569
    • ArchonZero's Gallery Art
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #23 on: August 15, 2008, 05:49:08 PM »
  All I was asking was about the minimum requirement.. I'm already aware of the 10 level difference in this post.  16 standard -multi-classed- levels and 4 in PRC was what I was referring to and it was answered.

-----
Jai'Dynn Za'Raa - Shadow Huntress

k_moustakas

  • Dark Power
  • ******
  • Posts: 1035
  • Shadow calls... shadow whispers...
Re: Multiclassing - I am level 11, can I still multiclass?
« Reply #24 on: August 15, 2008, 05:58:27 PM »
infero is a dm and ethinos a council member. WHo decides who's right? I need a definite final answer and then this subject locked. Not a discussion about it lol

Don't want to go one way and then learn the person who told me to go one way was wrong.
Has been described as a sometimey player