Ravenloft: Prisoners of the Mist

Public (OOC) => Tech discussion => Topic started by: emptyanima on August 16, 2013, 10:42:22 AM

Title: Server 'offline'
Post by: emptyanima on August 16, 2013, 10:42:22 AM
Hey, it says that server is offline in the list, but I know for a fact it isn't.

Any suggestions?
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Choirboy on August 16, 2013, 10:53:02 AM
I'm getting the same thing  :x
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 11:08:10 AM
you could use Xfire or the ravenloft game launcher to get in instead.... if they also bloody worked properly! which they might for you.

But for some reason Xfire is not scanning any NWN servers today

And the up date for the Ravenloft game launcher keeps telling me it cannot find the .exe and has just broken my launcher... I cannot even figure out how to fix the bleeding thing either.

Annoying!
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 11:33:59 AM
oh ok a recent registry clean is whats broken my launcher and preventing it from finding the .exe

Using the Ravenloft Launcher should get around this problem you are having and allow you to log in.

http://potm.markjohansen.dk/

If it tells you it cannot find your .exe simply run the NWN update seems to fix it.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: emptyanima on August 16, 2013, 11:45:43 AM
Oh, I see.

I probably should have mentioned that I am currently playing NWN (the GoG version) via Crossover.

I am unable to install the launcher, but thank you for sharing, it gave me something to try.

Will this be fixed by itself?
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: primaloath on August 16, 2013, 11:46:29 AM
There is a hardware-related bug with (at least) the GOG.com version of NWN that requires me to rename nwmain.exe to something like nwmain2.exe in order for the game not to crash at startup. However, the Ravenloft game launcher explicitly looks for nwmain.exe, so while it loads the game, the game crashes at startup. As a result, the Ravenloft game launcher is not an option for me.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 11:51:29 AM
It should clear up by its self yes, this is a ISP fault really, not a server issue.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: emptyanima on August 16, 2013, 11:53:15 AM
Okay, I'll keep checking back, just a bit frustrating as I was right in the middle of something.

Now I must go and do something else....

What is my life? :P
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 12:02:58 PM
me too lol... i had a famous last words instant telling a lvl 3 squishy "its ok if you do not stealth I will keep all the shadows off of you" one runs strait past me, hit her and my connection froze lols!
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Night.Walker on August 16, 2013, 12:04:04 PM
Hmm... I'm experiencing the same thing too.. Very strange, anyone had any luck yet?
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 12:08:00 PM
Its just a ISP issue it defiantly looks like its all the Brits are effected others from else ware are in game playing though.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: emptyanima on August 16, 2013, 12:10:40 PM
*shakes fist* Curse you, BT! :P
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: primaloath on August 16, 2013, 12:19:20 PM
There is a very elegant solution to this, if you don't mind playing exclusively for the sake of the story and character development for a little while.

RP on the chatroom - the 'chat' button is right next to the 'forum' button on this website.

I will happily be your substitute DM for the evening.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 12:23:01 PM
LOLs! that would sooth my wish to roll play but not my compulsive desire to alter costumes, ninja loot and kill things... maybe ill just make a sig pic for Sanngrior.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Kendaric on August 16, 2013, 12:25:44 PM
Its just a ISP issue it defiantly looks like its all the Brits are effected others from else ware are in game playing though.

It's not just you Brits ;) Got the same issue right here...
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: DM Tarokka on August 16, 2013, 12:42:52 PM
Same happens to me, I bypassed this by simply putting the IP of the server for the direct connect
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 12:50:30 PM
Its just a ISP issue it defiantly looks like its all the Brits are effected others from else ware are in game playing though.

It's not just you Brits ;) Got the same issue right here...

yah i can see that, I think BT and T-mobile use the same Hard ware along with many other ISPs.. guessing your being directed through T-mobile anyway and thus being effected with the same group of people.

Ciaran you lucky git i tryed that a thousand times already :)
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Kendaric on August 16, 2013, 12:51:44 PM
Same happens to me, I bypassed this by simply putting the IP of the server for the direct connect

Tried that as well without luck :(
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Bluebomber4evr on August 16, 2013, 01:57:18 PM
There's probably a few routers that are down that are part of your ISP's network. Something similar happened a few years back that prevented certain US ISPs (such as AT&T) from accessing the server because several of the routers AT&T used to connect to Europe were temporarily knocked offline.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 02:13:00 PM
This happens quite a lot really with the ISP i use, BT. It is normally for very short periods of time compared to this though, as regularly as one every 2 to 3 months and effecting others either close by or being directed through the same northern hemisphere routs, i think your guess is spot on mate and is just a matter of time until they fix it.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 02:28:02 PM
For any one who was still interested in other ways to connect to by pass any other possible issues that might cause you not to be able to connect through your normal client I mentioned Xfire earlier which i do like a lot because you still get a server list with it as well as options to chat and create groups of your gaming buddies.

Here is the link to down load that.

http://classic.xfire.com/download/

Just let it scan your games and it will find NWN and show you every server that is running still more or less.

You can also add your favorite servers to it by entering direct IP.

Mine just has Ravenloft and a lot of dead Dragon lance servers :P
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: emptyanima on August 16, 2013, 02:35:51 PM
I'm off to try that! Thanks, mate! :)
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: LadyDragn on August 16, 2013, 02:39:26 PM
Seems its messing with Time Warner as well, and I'm not even in Europe but can't see the server, nor do I have it through GoG. I purchased my game years ago. :(
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: LivingWasteland on August 16, 2013, 02:47:57 PM
Odd, I'v e got an original CD key and am with Time Warner and having no problems.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 02:55:00 PM
Aliens... Satellites... mother ship in the way... [sage nod]
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: LadyDragn on August 16, 2013, 02:55:09 PM
This is what I don't understand.

I haven't changed any settings on my Modem. I was playing just fine last night, but now I can't see the server at all, and cannot direct connect. I tried the ravenloft launcher but that keeps crashing and I -really- don't want to download Xfire, I just don't care for it or need another program that takes up space :/
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 03:00:08 PM
I just gona have to wait like the rest of us darlin! sorry. :)
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: emptyanima on August 16, 2013, 03:02:11 PM
Xfire added the server just fine, I simply can't connect to it, so it's certainly an ISP issue.

Thanks for all your suggestions though :)
Title: Connection issues
Post by: Tyras on August 16, 2013, 03:07:25 PM
Anybody else having issues not being able to direct connect or see the server in teh favorites or history lists?
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Bluebomber4evr on August 16, 2013, 03:11:13 PM
This is what I don't understand.

I haven't changed any settings on my Modem. I was playing just fine last night, but now I can't see the server at all, and cannot direct connect. I tried the ravenloft launcher but that keeps crashing and I -really- don't want to download Xfire, I just don't care for it or need another program that takes up space :/
It isn't a problem with the settings on your modem. It's a problem with one or more of the routers your ISP uses to connect to the server.
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: LadyDragn on August 16, 2013, 03:16:13 PM
So how do we fix it Blue? Call our providers? What would I even tell them? lol
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 03:31:13 PM
well i am receiving the server again finally... any one else?
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Kendaric on August 16, 2013, 03:39:45 PM
Still offline for me...   :cry:
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: MadJKevlar on August 16, 2013, 03:47:49 PM
[mutters] i spoke to soon, Xfire is scanning the server now and reporting ping and # of players but i still cannot connect :(... fact xfire can see it now does mean something was just fixed somewhere though.

Just to let you Know however 36 players are enjoying the server right now but not us :P
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Ingwulf on August 16, 2013, 05:20:13 PM
Did the server crash or??? :)
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Maric Arnand on August 16, 2013, 05:30:29 PM
Not a crash, it stills hows online for me but i'm halfway round the world in a different hemisphere.

no one else online at the mo >.>
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Troukk on August 16, 2013, 05:32:13 PM
I just disconnected and wasn't able to reconnect.

What's worse, I left someone locked inside a faction locked area because of it...  :?
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: -Blitz- on August 16, 2013, 05:58:22 PM
I live in the USA and no internet for me.. =b
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: emptyanima on August 16, 2013, 06:03:30 PM
It works via direct connect now!
Title: Re: Server 'offline'
Post by: Bluebomber4evr on August 16, 2013, 06:03:59 PM
So how do we fix it Blue? Call our providers? What would I even tell them? lol
They're more than likely already aware of the problem and are working on it.