Ravenloft: Prisoners of the Mist

Public (OOC) => Tech discussion => Topic started by: WildPirate13 on December 06, 2010, 10:38:40 PM

Title: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load/Resolved. Old tileset.
Post by: WildPirate13 on December 06, 2010, 10:38:40 PM
Hello,

I hope I am posting this in the correct area. I try and load Perfidus and Har'Akir and it wont load...
 Progresses slightly then... waiting waiting waiting etc...

 Is there a Hak pack I am missing? Is there anyway I can solve this isssue?
 
 Seeking advise.

Thanks in Advance.

This is the error report I recieve when I try to load Perfidus or Har'Akir

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   nwmain.exe
  Application Version:   1.6.9.0
  Application Timestamp:   486cfadc
  Fault Module Name:   nwmain.exe
  Fault Module Version:   1.6.9.0
  Fault Module Timestamp:   486cfadc
  Exception Code:   c0000005
  Exception Offset:   0010a5e8
  OS Version:   6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   4e15
  Additional Information 2:   450c26a5a8b127ee819fdf28807f7c2b
  Additional Information 3:   e860
  Additional Information 4:   e4ad65a48ca07aac9b64488497b9db3c

Read our privacy statement:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=50163&clcid=0x0409
 
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load
Post by: WildPirate13 on December 07, 2010, 07:24:14 PM
Ta da bump
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load
Post by: marlewebber on December 07, 2010, 08:04:00 PM
I've been out of Tech Support for a few years, but it seems like NWNmain.exe might be corrupted or something.  I would recommend getting the critical rebuild, that's always worked for me to patch up those core files, good luck!

http://nwn.bioware.com/support/patch_english_hotu.html
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load
Post by: WildPirate13 on December 07, 2010, 08:39:52 PM
Thanks Marle.
I will give it a shot.

 
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load
Post by: WildPirate13 on December 07, 2010, 09:28:48 PM
Argh

Running Vista aka Shetza.

Tried running it in compatibility mode Windows xp which I like sooo much more... nope

Its a HP AMD 9600 Quad Core Processor 2.30GHZ

Nividia GeForce 8500GT yes updated to most recent drivers.
RealTek High Def Audio

Nwn Version 1.69
Cep updater ran and checks out to be most recent.

I attempt to login and it gives me the same error and this addtional info..
ColorScheme changed to windows basic. <<

Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   APPCRASH
  Application Name:   nwmain.exe
  Application Version:   1.6.9.0
  Application Timestamp:   486cfadc
  Fault Module Name:   nwmain.exe
  Fault Module Version:   1.6.9.0
  Fault Module Timestamp:   486cfadc
  Exception Code:   c0000005
  Exception Offset:   0010a5e8
  OS Version:   6.0.6002.2.2.0.768.3
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   4e15
  Additional Information 2:   450c26a5a8b127ee819fdf28807f7c2b
  Additional Information 3:   e860
  Additional Information 4:   e4ad65a48ca07aac9b64488497b9db3c




OK...
I am wondering what Haks are required for these areas.?


Had a conversation with Lockleed and could it be a tileset issue? Does anyone have a link for the tilesets for Perfidus and Har'akir so I could check.


Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load
Post by: EO on December 07, 2010, 09:48:12 PM
Try toning down all your graphic settings in NwN to the minimum, see if it helps.
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load
Post by: WildPirate13 on December 07, 2010, 10:35:14 PM
Yup did that but thanks for the post.
 I am currently wondering about the tilesets had a good conversation with Lockleed.

 Anyone have the tilesets for perfidus and har'akir on hand so I could test them?
 or just make sure they are intact?

Resolved.

 I had an old tileset file in my hak folder.
 Cross refed the size of the files and found that the older file was smaller updated the new file "larger" and shazam!

 Thanks for the feedback and help


Resolved old tileset was the issue!
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load/Resolved. Old tileset.
Post by: Anarcoplayba on December 08, 2010, 04:15:15 AM
\o/

Now that you can load, I have a level 3 paladin who wants to go to Perfidus and clean the place! Let's make a picnic there!
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load/Resolved. Old tileset.
Post by: Aran on December 08, 2010, 06:00:25 AM
hmm might be the same problem Naomi990 (close enough) had with all her chars
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load/Resolved. Old tileset.
Post by: WildPirate13 on December 13, 2010, 10:22:32 PM
ummm No On the the level three paladin........     

I informed Nao of the fix and gave her the link.
thanks.
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load/Resolved. Old tileset.
Post by: Dashru on January 06, 2011, 07:57:17 PM
Could you elaborate more on how you fixed this? I'm experiencing the same problems with the desert tilesets, along with the arctic ones.
Title: Re: Perfidus and Har'Akir wont load/Resolved. Old tileset.
Post by: WildPirate13 on January 07, 2011, 06:26:33 PM
Check your file sizes. That is how I determined the issue. Like most issues user error. I had the old files that allowed me access to the server main but not the new updated larger files.